Connect Me

twitterfacebookgoogle plus email

  Instagram View Biwas Bhattarai's profile on LinkedIn

28 opposition parties to boycott CA meet

KATHMANDU, JUN 09 - Twenty-eight of the 30 political parties in the opposition alliance have decided to boycott today’s Constituent Assembly meeting.
The 28 fringe parties decided not to attend today’s CA meet expressing their dissent over the 16-point agreement signed by the major parties—Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, UCPN (M) and MJF-Loktantrik—to settle the statute differences and pave a path for constitution drafting on Monday evening.
A meeting of the opposition parties is underway at Singha Durbar. UCPN (Maoist) and MJF-Loktantrik, who sanctioned the 16-point deal are not present in the meeting. Most of these 28 parties of the alliance have no representatives in the CA.
Tarai Madhes Loktantrik Party Joint Chairman Hridayesh Tripathi said that the parties of the alliance have decided not to attend the CA meet while another leader, Secretary of Sadhbhavana Party Manish Suman informed that today’s meeting will decide the future course of action to be adopted by the alliance.
The UCPN (Maoist)-led 30-party opposition bloc saw vertical division on Monday over the agreement with three major Madhesi parties, namely MJF-Nepal led by Upendra Yadav, Tarai Madhes Loktantrik Party led by Mahanta Thakur and the Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhawana Party, and Janajati parties decided not to back the deal objecting to the understanding on federalism after its key issues were postponed.